Caring for Community Readers

Assemblymember Brian Maienschein recently honored us here at ZCode Magazines as the 77th Assembly District’s 2014 Small Business of the Year in recognition of our ongoing commitment to the readers of our community.

“ZCode Magazines has found an innovative way to bring people in our community together by showcasing local businesses, events, and residents,” Maienschein said. “I’m proud to recognize ZCode for creating a fun, community-based publication that San Diegans enjoy reading, while helping local small businesses promote themselves.”

Launched in 2009, we started with one publication, 92127 Magazine, a reference to the zip code where the magazine was distributed. Since then we have grown to become the publisher of eleven zip code-specific magazines, reaching 185,000 San Diegans. Each magazine highlights unique local businesses, families, students, sports, and community events. ZCode Magazines also provides advice to local businesses on community outreach using social media, email, and custom publishing.

“On behalf of all of us at ZCode Magazines, we are honored to be selected by Assemblymember Maienschein to receive the Small Business of the Year Award,” said Derrick Breaux, Publisher and CEO of ZCode Magazines. “We work hard to serve our readers and the community that we love, and we wouldn’t be successful without them.”

A family business, Breaux’s brother, Tyler McElhaney, serves as creative director and COO for our publishing company, located in the Rancho Bernardo area of San Diego. “Maintaining a balance of high quality design and production along with hyper-local stories and features is our biggest goal. Employing local writers, photographers, designers and sales staff reinforces our commitment to the communities of San Diego,” explained McElhaney.

Each year, the California Small Business Association asks legislators to nominate a Small Business of the Year from their district that has demonstrated exemplary business ethics and community service. We were presented with a framed certificate from the State Assembly recognizing our outstanding contributions.

(Pictured above, from left to right: Editor Sarabeth McElhaney, Creative Director/COO Tyler McElhaney, Assemblyman Brian Maienschein, Publisher/CEO Derrick Breaux, and Director of Business Development Jessica Breaux)